Thread: too much saturated fat? page

grae_bird is offline Member

too much saturated fat?

Primal Fuel
    Can one get too much saturated fat? I'm still relatively new at paleo. I am trying for a 50% caloric-intake from fat (and I'm not trying to lose weight; rather I am underweight and trying to regain gut health). I get some fat from meat and eggs; avocados; etc. HOWEVER, today the vast MAJORITY of my fat came from coconut oil, which is good... but can one overdo it? I had like 300% of my saturated fat today according to the "supposed" RDA.

Lactose-intolerance rules out butter. Nuts are high omega-6. Olive oil shouldn't be cooked. Thus, I depend a lot on coconut oil. Again, can one get TOO MUCH saturated fat?

magicmerl is offline Senior Member
    50% of calories from saturated fat is in no way too much.

Some might say it is ideal.

p.s. Ghee is pure butterfat, and works for the lactose intolerant among us.
    Disclaimer: I eat 'meat and vegetables' ala Primal, although I don't agree with the carb curve. I like Perfect Health Diet and WAPF Lactofermentation a lot.

Griff's cholesterol primer
    5,000 Cal Fat <> 5,000 Cal Carbs
    Winterbike: What I eat every day is what other people eat to treat themselves.
    TQP: I find for me that nutrition is much more important than what I do in the gym.
    bloodorchid is always right

but what about the ratio of monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fat? I haven't quite divorced myself from the conventional health system's condemnaton of saturated fat. I know 50% caloric intake from fat isn't bad, but its the percentage of saturated fat that I am questioning.

Timthetaco Guest