Thread: mastitis without antibiotics? page

girlhk is offline Senior Member

mastitis without antibiotics?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    A couple of days ago, my left breast became very painful. I thought it was a cyst at first, but then got body aches and fever that night. So I figured it's mastitis. I expressed the milk, had dd nurse constantly, but still painful. Had the worst headache last night (I'm not prone to headaches). Fever is on and off. Had it last night before bed, and it broke during the night. .

I researched on alternatives to antibiotics, and took raw garlic throughout the evening. I feel better today, but still run down and tired. Breast still tender, but much better than yesterday.

My dd is 20 months old and her nursing pattern hasn't changed (she nurses a lot still), so I don't know what brought this on. It's my first time with mastitis.

I'm not so keen on antibiotics, so wondering if I can handle this without them? I don't want to see a doctor unless I have to... everyone is on my case about nursing a toddler enough as it is. And doctors here prescribe antibiotics for everything, so I have no way of telling whether or not it's really necessary.

Shelli is offline Senior Member
    I got that once when my oldest was nursing. I can't answer for the antibiotics, but taking a hot bath and putting a hot wet washcloth on the painful spot really helped. And massaging firmly downwards towards the nipple, like you would if you were expressing milk.

Kakes is offline Senior Member
    Find yourself some good quality pure Lavender essential oil and Melaleuca essential oil (tea tree oil). Apply them diluted in a little carrier oil (olive oil or coconut oil will do) at least twice a day- or more often if you feel it is needed. Works like a charm! (Quality REALLY matters.)
    You can also use cold cabbage leaves for comfort (just put them in your bra). I would take a hefty dose of probiotics internally once a day as well.
    Good luck!