Thread: alternatives to pull ups? page

Traderjodie is offline Junior Member

alternatives to pull ups?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie and trying to get my family to start doing primal fitness. The problem is that we have no good way to do the pull ups. We are all different heights and weights -- wide variations! We are in a small home with no good place to build anything.

It would be great if there was a different type of exercise that we could substitute -- maybe something with weights or bands?

If you have any suggestions I would love to here them. Thanks!!!

-Jodie

eKatherine is offline Senior Member
    Do you have any sort of bar at all? They make them that mount on exposed beams in ceilings, on joists, on walls, or even in doorways. There is even a freestanding one available at amazon that breaks down and stores easily.

People of any height can use the same bar. The short ones may have to climb a stool to reach it, and the taller ones can just bend their knees when using it.

I have one mounted on a naked wall in my dining room.

Watch some videos on YouTube for some options if you really can't get one.

do pullups anywhere - YouTube
    Last edited by eKatherine; 03-03-2013 at 11:47 AM.

Badkty22 is offline Senior Member
    Do you have a doorway that you can hook a pull-up bar onto? They can be found inexpensively (<$30) and require no tools to install, just hook it over the door frame and go.

As far as other exercises go, overhead presses and rows using dumbbells or bands will help strengthen the same muscles as pull ups. American-style kettlebell swings, where you bring the bell fully overhead, also help get some of those upper back muscles. If you are really brave you can try hand stand push-ups, a Crossfit favorite. Do a handstand against a wall, lower yourself down as much as possible and push yourself back up.

Hope that helps!

sbhikes is offline Senior Member