Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do I really use this much fat? page

Incindiary is offline Member

Do I really use this much fat?

Forgive me if this is a newbie question. I'm still learning.

Tonight I cooked my first spaghetti squash using this recipe:

Garlic and Goat Cheese Spaghetti Squash

LOVED IT!

But I used only half the olive oil and half the goat cheese called for. Even then it was so rich I could only eat a small portion. Now, it may be that I used a medium-sized squash instead of a large, but even then, that seems like a LOT of fat. I've made a few recipes from MDA in the past two weeks, and they seemed much lighter, but still delicious.

So, is this really okay? I know that sounds naive, but I'm only two weeks or so into this. It's totally okay if it is okay, by the way.

I just want to make sure I'm not overdoing it. Eating this much fat withot feeling guilty is going to take some geting used to.

Zach is offline Banned
    Heck yea thats a lot of fat! That recipe calls for like 275g of fat or 2500 calories. Almost seems like a typo for making one spaghetti squash.

Oh but of course its from a primal blog, so the more fat the merrier, right?!

cori93437 is offline Senior Member
    Wow... as written that seems excessive even to me.

And I'm an unabashed HFLC queen.
    LOL.

Half if probably good for a LARGE spaghetti squash.
    Keep it for a small side portion and enjoy that way, or reduce the olive oil further... and just go with the butter and half the goat cheese only and see how that works for you.
    “You have your way. I have my way. As for the right way, the correct way, and the only way, it does not exist.”
    ~Friedrich Nietzsche
    And that's why I'm here eating HFLC Primal/Paleo.

peril is offline Senior Member