Thread: Hi all ! page

Metismomma is offline Senior Member

Hi all !

Primal Fuel
    Hi!
    I'm just getting started with primal diet though most of the concepts are not new to me.
    I grew up in a tiny town in northern Alberta where we lived off the land for the most part. I grew up eating meat and marrow from moose bones, beaver tails, saskatoons, garden grown vegetables, homemade bread, bannock fried in lard, pretty much a healthy traditional diet for my family.
    I started getting really interesting in nutrient dense foods (after years of eating the SAD) when my oldest daughter was 2. She developed a spot on her front teeth that turned out to be soft enemal I was actively involved in the mothering.com forums and found out about WAPF and curing cavities through nutrition. For the past 4 years I have been struggling to get my family to eat more traditionally. Unfortunately, I have to deal with my husband who nod and smiles then goes buy a bag of potato chips. He's thin and fit though despite his many many horrible habits and hypothyroidism. Seriously, love him dearly but I could cheerfullly choke him whenever he comes out of the bathroom and says "oops I accidently lost 10lbs. How did that happen?"
    In an effort to really get my children health under control( they both have teeth issues now) I decided to step up the fight to get our family to eat healthier. As it turns out I have one child that loves vegetables and breads while the other fits right into the primal lifestyle perfectly ( I've taken to calling her "Baby Grok" in my mind ) I'm also trying to help my own health issues. I have issues with sugar that I have found is reduced when I eat more fat. Natural progression lead me here.
    I love what I have discovered so far! It just might be the ticket to getting my husband on board too.
    I'm very excited about getting deeper into PB, I have a concrete direction and a place I can get all the answers I need.