Thread: Starting with limited choices page

Metismomma is offline Senior Member

Question Starting with limited choices

Shop Now
    Hi all!
    I'm new to primal living, though not to the concept of eating more fat. I have been a fan of "Eat Fat,Lose Fat" and the WAPF for awhile now. I've just started trying to eat more primal and watching my carb intake.
    Only problem is, this is not the best time for me to start! We have limited funds right now, so going shopping for the food I need to succeed is out. Here is what I have:
    1 large jars virgin coconut oil
    1 bottle of each : olive oil and grapeseed oil
    2 lbs of butter
    lots of hamburger, pork chops,bacon, breakfast sausage
    1/2 dz eggs (I love my eggs and so do my kids)
    1 1/2 bell peppers
    lots of onions
    celery
    peanut butter
    a cucumber
    apples
    lots of frozen vegetables, though mainly peas/carrot/corn mix
    small amount of salad/lettuce
    the rest is high carb, we're talking potatoes, brown rice, pasta, cereal and my absolute favorite: popcorn(but only if its popped in coconut oil and slathered with butter and sea salt.)

So considering my situation, should I hold off dropping the carbs so much or just work with what I got? Considering what I got, any quick easy recipes I work with?
    thanks in advance for any help you can give me!
    Calm the f**k down.

Stabby is offline Senior Member
    Are you trying to lose weight or just maintain good health? If you want to lose a fair amount of weight axing the carbs and eating more fat is the key. If you don't have weight issues, get rid of the grains regardless. They're not the least bit healthful, even the rice. Good alternatives are sweet potato, squashes, and the like.