Thread: Staying primal when busy page

Kathryn Watts is offline Junior Member

Staying primal when busy

Primal Fuel
    Hey guys! I've got an issue that, while not very unique, isn't really addressed in the paleo literature. I'm a college student and I've been paleo for about a year, so I am very familiar with all things paleo and have a solid group of good paleo recipies.

So here's my issue. Bear with me, it's a bit complicated. I am a student and I also work part time. I work for a business that is only open from 8-5 so I have to work within those hours. My typical day is working 8 to 10:30, driving 30 minutes back to my school, going to class from 11 to 2, driving 30 minutes back to work and working from 2 to 5. I am having a really really hard time with when and what to eat for lunch during this time. I also don't have a whole lot of time to cook, since I do homework practically non-stop during the evenings and the weekends.

So I'm hoping you guys could give me some tips. Here's the facts. I do have a refrigerator at work that I can put food in, and a microwave to heat something up. I do need to eat while driving however, so fingerfood type stuff is best. I'm just having a hard time coming up with a plan and meals that are not terribly expensive, don't require long hours cooking, would be easy to eat in the car, and ideally do not need to be heated up.

TornadoGirl is offline Senior Member
    That's a tough one. Boiled eggs seem like the easiest thing. A piece of fruit or some cut up vegetables to go with it, perhaps? Maybe take some salmon or tuna and make a salad and roll it up in lettuce? I'm afraid it this would get boring fast. A blended soup that you could drink on the way to class after heating up in the microwave?
    True healthcare reform starts in your kitchen, not in Washington. ~Anonymous
    The worst carrot is better than the best candybar.--TornadoGirl

stevie is offline Junior Member