Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do you use protein shakes? page

joshclem is offline Junior Member

Do you use protein shakes?

I train for MMA and every single person I train with drinks protein shakes.

Even Mark advise's them - and even though I do trust Mark - we all know a good proportion of his revenue comes from this product so I do not believe he can be completely unbiased.

I personally feel that if I have a steak and steamed vegetables after my workout that has gotta be much better and easier to absorb than a bunch of powder.

Whats your opinion?

nixxy is offline Senior Member
    I use protein powder mainly for the fact that I'm a student, and the whey protein powder I buy is cheaper per protein gram than any other source except eggs (which I already eat in abundance).

I try to limit my protein powder use but now that I'm powerlifting and aiming for ~150g protein a day, it seems a bit inevitable because it is already quite an unaffordable lifestyle for a student!

EDIT: Also I use Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Whey so it's naturally flavoured instead of chemically flavoured.
    Last edited by nixxy; 02-20-2013 at 03:40 AM.
    Current weight lost: 82.9lb (37.6kg)

Current PRs:
    Bench: 45kg/99lb
    Squat: 100kg/220lb
    Deadlift: 120kg/265lb

My blog
    My journal

Damiana is offline Senior Member
    No. I see no need for them unless you're a weight lifter who's obsessed with bulking up and getting your protein nownownowNOW after a workout. I get sufficient protein through my food, and its a hell of a lot more enjoyable gnawing on a shank of pork than to drink a flavored chemical shake.
    F 28/5'4/100 lbs

"I'm not a psychopath, I'm a high-functioning sociopath; do your research."

joshclem is offline Junior Member
    Hmm...

2 fine women telling me what to do... I could get used to this.

I might meet you both in the middle and start using hemp shakes ( taste like hell ) but are a natural protein shake

thank you