Thread: 37-y.o. MWM seeks meaningful relation ship with abdominal muscles and 10% BF page

Charlie Golf is offline Senior Member

37-y.o. MWM seeks meaningful relation ship with abdominal muscles and 10% BF

Primal Fuel
    Howdy, from Texas, y'all!

I was introduced to MDA a few weeks ago by a co-worker and have been hooked ever since. I've been on a personal health and fitness voyage for quite some time. Played sports as a kid growing up and that fell by the wayside in HS to pursue my love of aviation. In college I participated in ROTC (calisthenics), intramural sports and ran a lot. I also ambled my way through our Fitness & Rec Center's weight room on occasion.

Got into professional aviation after I graduated and got married a little over 9 years ago. The on-the-road lifestyle took a pretty big toll on me -- it was hard for me to gain any weight in college (made it from 135 to 155) but I was basically "skinny-fat." After graduation I gained a fair amount of weight (some muscle, but more fat) and peaked at 195 lbs and about 25% BF.

About 5 years ago, I saw my nephew born and was immediately struck with the thought that he may not grow up with a father because of my bro-in-law's poor habits. This woke me up to a realization that I want to be a strong and fit dad when my wife and I have kids (we're trying now).

I've had fits and starts getting "back in shape" but I managed to plateau for a while. About 2 years ago, my wife and I joined a very nice gym and I used it frequently. I worked with various trainers there but soon got frustrated with how "cookie cutter" the training was and how unskilled they actually were. I finally paired with a PT who actually had some real credentials and begin making progress but was hampered by a time-bomb injury in my left shoulder that sidelined me for a few month of Physical Therapy.