Thread: YOUR barefoot/ minimalist running experience page

danielBU is offline Junior Member

YOUR barefoot/ minimalist running experience

Primal Fuel
    Hi Everyone
    My name is Daniel and I am a Sport Science Undergraduate at Bournemouth University, UK.
    I am currently doing my dissertation on barefoot and minimalist (BFM) running as it is a keen point of interest for me (I have been running barefoot and in Vibram FiveFingers for over two years). The title of my dissertation is:

An exploratory study into the world of barefoot and minimalist running

I am hoping that some of you will be willing to share with me your experiences of BFM running, which would help me achieve the overall aim of my research:

To explore the experiences of those who adopt barefoot and minimalist running

Below are a few questions which may facilitate responses:
    What motivated you to take up BFM running?
    How did you transition to BFM running?
    Has BFM running influenced your performance?
    Has BFM running influenced your injury rates?
    What barriers have you experienced/ overcome (if any)?
    Thank you,
    Daniel

ciep is offline Senior Member
    Hi Daniel, good luck with your paper.

1. I was initially motivated by the book Born To Run. That alone wasn't enough to make me go minimal though, I did quite a bit of research on my own to verify the ideas in BTR. As a physiology undergrad the biomechanics concepts were easy to understand and made very good intuitive sense. I also read about and watched the POSE Running and Evolution Running videos, and got involved in some barefoot running forums. Everything made sense, plus I like to experiment with these sort of things, so I jumped in.