Thread: Nutrient profile of cooked vs uncooked foods (herbs, spices, nuts, liquids) page

Drakelet is offline Member

Wink Nutrient profile of cooked vs uncooked foods (herbs, spices, nuts, liquids)

Primal Fuel
    I'm a lazy student. And, as a result, I've recently been in the habit of preparing meals in advance so they're quick and easy to consume. This is especially for breakfast.

And when I say "preparing", I basically mean blending whatever I can get my hands on.

For example, most days I eat:
    Blended: 12 eggs, 200g spinach, 9 brazilnuts, 18 almonds, 1 clove garlic, 2T lemon juice, green tea leaves (from tea bag because I'm lazy)

With a side dish of:
    Blended (all raw): Carrots, cucumber, onion, garlic, mushrooms, banana, pineapple, avocado... And whatever other veg looks appealing when I go shopping

It all tastes surprisingly good. Like, very good. The former I fry for a couple mins ala scrambled egg/omelette/whatever. The latter I slop into my mouth. And theoretically healthy, right?

It led me onto thinking:

(Tl;dr'ers start reading now)

Does cooking damage the nutrient profile of food? I've read various research on "normal" foods, such as eggs, (boiled) veg, meat.
    But what about herbs and spices? Including salt and pepper. They seem more flavoursome when added after cooking, but they don't mix as well. And as an extension, tea leaves?
    What about nuts?
    And what about liquids, such as lemon juice or vinegar? I presume part will evaporate, but what about what's left?

Obviously frying for only a couple minutes will have less effect that baking for a couple of hours, but I'm still very curious.

And on a completely unrelated side-note, does anyone know how I can test (for myself) the nutrient profile of food? Say, on cheap eggs from a cheap supermarket vs expensive free-range ones from an expensive one. Everyone talks about fat/prot/carbs but not about everything else.

EagleRiverDee is offline Senior Member