Thread: Grass Finished Vs Grass Fed page

Troy Archie is offline Junior Member

Grass Finished Vs Grass Fed

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Is there a difference?

The farmer I sourced out raises grass finished cattle, feeding them grain along with grass and other feed finally weening them 6 months before slaughter.

Is this enough to alter the omega 3:6 ratio?
    Comments?

itchy166 is offline Senior Member
    I can't give you numbers, all I know is the longer they are on grain, the worse the omega 3:6 ratio gets.
    "It's a great life, if you don't weaken.". John Buchan

ssn679doc is online now Senior Member
    Yes there is a difference, as far as what the terms mean. Grass finished means that the animal was fattened on grass (which takes longer than on grain) before slaughter. Grass fed usually refers to an anial that was fed grass for it's whole life, and not just fattened for slaughter on grass. From what I have read from a grass grazing magazine I have a subscription to, the longer the animal is on grass the better the Omega 3:Omega 6 ratios.

Damiana is offline Senior Member
    The term grass finished makes me think of an animal that has been given a meal of grass before it was butchered, much like a prisoner's last meal.
    F 28/5'4/100 lbs

"I'm not a psychopath, I'm a high-functioning sociopath; do your research."

canio6 is online now Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Damiana View Post
    The term grass finished makes me think of an animal that has been given a meal of grass before it was butchered, much like a prisoner's last meal.
    So be happy. You are eating a criminal cow that got what it deserved.

Yes, there may be a little difference in O6:O3 will it really matter much? Eh. Some say yes, some say no. I say buy the best you can afford, but it isn't worth the excess cortisol to stress about it too much