Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Feeling full page

gazb is offline Junior Member

Primal Fuel

I'm fairly new to the Primal thing and have been a bit on and off (was going well, then I had a pizza and beer fuelled camping trip...), but over the last week or so I've really been trying to stick to it.

One thing I miss about "conventional" meals with a starchy carb source is that they really satisfied me and made me feel full, at least for a couple of hours. I just don't get that with Primal meals, unless I eat tons of fruit and veg and nuts, and then that puts me over the 150g carbs per day (particularly with more filling fruits like bananas, which pack a lot of sugar, but even the berries add up). Otherwise I stay hungry after the meal, and feel even more hungry after 30 minutes and an hour.

I'm aware that fats fill you up, so I'll often go for higher fat protein sources like eggs and red meat, and I'm generous with the cooking fat (butter, until I get my hands on some decent lard and coconut oil) and olive oil on salads and all the rest.

Is it just that I equate the blood sugar / insulin rush of a high carb meal with "feeling full", and I just need to get used to the diet?

For background, I'm fairly active (weights 3x per week, walk or cycle at least 4 miles most days, and do HIIT once or twice a week), I'm 6'4" and just under 200lbs. I don't particularly need to lose weight, but at the same time a six pack would be nice :P. I know the 150g is a general recommendation and maybe I need to eat a bit more because of my size? I've always been quite a big eater; a few years ago I'd easily put away 5 or 6 full platefuls at a buffet, my appetite's not quite up there these days but as I'm saying I still feel hungry a lot, so everyone's always said I must have a very fast metabolism.

So do I need to just get used to it as I say, or should I just listen to my body and fill up (on Primal foods of course!) rather than worrying about numbers?