Here at California Naturopathic Clinic we have had several posts in the past dealing with gluten and gluten avoidance. In response, many of you shared how eating a gluten-free diet helped to change your life when nothing else worked. But as you may very well know, avoiding gluten can be a very difficult task. Beyond being a major component of wheat, gluten has a widespread use and is used in a large number of processed food products. So the key to successfully avoiding gluten is to be made aware of all of its hidden sources. While some food labels may list gluten as an ingredient, others refer to it by other names. Here is a list of food products and additives that you need to watch out for if you are serious about living a gluten-free lifestyle:

Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
Malt or malt flavoring
Modified starch or modified food starch
Monoglycerides and diglycerides
Products that list “natural” or “artificial” flavorings
Red or yellow food dyes
Vegetable gum or vegetable protein