Thread: How detrimental are my compramises on seasonal, local and organic produce. page

Kram is offline Junior Member

How detrimental are my compramises on seasonal, local and organic produce.

Primal Fuel
    Hi,

I'm new to PB but have always eaten plenty of fresh fruit and veg. Obviously the ideal is to eat local, seasonal and organic produce. Unfortunately, living in a cold northern european climate, this isn't always practical. Local is normally the first to bite the bullet and if I stuck to seasonal, I'd only eat fruit in the summer and I'd miss out on lots of variety. Quite often the only one of the three I get is organic and sometimes even that is a problem. My thinking is Grok would have probably moved to Spain if he were me but that's not an option.

I assume that I'm still much better off with any fruit and veg and eating primally but how detrimental are these compromises likely to be long term? Do any experienced PB exponents living in the UK, Ireland or Scandinavia have any thoughts on this?

Thanks

Kram
    Last edited by Kram; 04-25-2010 at 10:31 AM. Reason: typos

NorthernMonkeyGirl is offline Senior Member
    Yes and no....
    I'm in the UK, and I must say that having the chance to grow my own veg means I'm looking at far more varieties - which means more things in different seasons. So instead of winter being a wasteland of leek and parsnip, I'm planting sprouting broccoli, kale, winter salad leaves (e.g. lamb's lettuce), beets..... etc etc.
    Personally I don't eat much fruit anyway, but won't be saying no to fresh berries in season
    Local tends to be best mainly because it should be freshest. Maybe consider frozen veg? I'm not too bothered about organic - ideally yes, but other things get in the way. Fresh and conventional is better than ancient-but-local, in my view.
    I think it's a minor concern compared to the main PB message - something that can be played with as you settle into the lifestyle.