Thread: Primal Journal - FireChick page

firechick0228 is offline Junior Member

Primal Journal - FireChick

Primal Fuel
    I read the book, started the program, joined the forum so I might as well start the journal as well - lifestyle commitment right? I can't promise I'll be consistent, but it will be a good tool to track my progress and dedication to changing my life.

I'm Jen, I live in Coto de Caza, CA with my husband, 3 kids and a German shepherd named Marley. I am a firefighter and commute to Las Vegas. I work crazy hours, as does my husband. We are both very unhappy with the quality of our lives and those of our children. We NEED a change - we must change our lives and find happiness, rather than the daily grind that is so prevalent in Americans.

Reading The Primal Blueprint changed me. Cliche, I know, but we ARE the Krog family. My husband has a chronic condition - psoriatic arthritis - and takes medications to alleviate symptoms. I was the over-exercising cardio queen (albeit, I was half-marathon training and still doing weight resistance 2-3x/wk) but I was exhausted and moody with high/lows throughout the day. I have a broody 14 year old, and 3.5 yr old twins who are sick often. Reading that book enlightened me to make positive changes in the lives of our family.

Background: Husband works 45 miles away, commutes twice a day (evening shift). I work 300 miles away and fly/drive to Vegas for 48 hour shifts, then I'm home 3.5 days on average. Our lives are hectic. Lots of stress, not much family time or play time. And crappy, zero-nutrition foods. Not fast food - but pretty close.

Some changes I (well, we, but I'm not getting a whole lot of help here...) made:
    - Organic fruits and veggies (as many as possible) and veggie wash rather than rinsing
    - Organic, free-range, hormone-free chicken and eggs
    - Grass fed, hormone-free beef (hard to come by apparently...)