I had never had brie cheese before today and I had always been aware that the rind was edible so i happily ate the rind with the cheese ans it was good. I was just looking up some things to use with the wheel i was given and saw that the rind of brie is made from mold from bread. Does that mean there is gluten in it?
the mold grew on the bread, the mold is not the bread
you got jokes, you funny
FWIW, unless you're hypersensitive to gluten, I don't think trace gluten contamination is anything to worry about. For example, most of the nuts, chocolate and even vitamins I buy are "processed on equipment shared with wheat and soy." I couldn't care less.
I think gluten is incredibly overrated anyway. Mr. Gluten gets way more credit than he deserves. The average Primal seems to be terrified of gluten but will happily choke down chicken wings deep fried in rancid vegetable oil at some bar...as long as they're not breaded, of course. Personally, I think the WGA in wheat is more harmful than the gluten for most of us, and I'd rather eat vital wheat gluten stretched into fake vegan "meat" than use salad dressing made from soybean and/or canola and/or cottonseed oil. But that's my opinion.
Relax a bit
Don't put your trust in anyone on this forum, including me. You are the key to your own success.
The Caveman Eats: My Primal Recipes for Athletes and Average Joe's Alike
But the rind on brie cheese is the best part of it! I buy small rolls where there is a lot of "outside" and share with the dogs the middle and eat the rind all myself!