Thread: The perfect grocery list page

Feanor78 is offline Senior Member

The perfect grocery list

Hey everyone! I'm just getting started on this new primal lifestyle thing and I've gotten by for the past two weeks on spinach, broccoli, pork tenderloin, lamb, and brussel sprouts... thankfully I just got my paycheck and I'm ready to go stock up so I can have a full compliment of properly ratio-ed fats and good protein at my disposal...
    If you could do an ideal primal grocery shopping, what would it include? I know I'm going to pick up:

-Coconut oil
    -almonds
    -walnuts
    -frozen wild caught salmon
    -some fresh veggies
    -eggs
    I'm probably going to a farm stand so I can get some nitrate-free bacon and free range chicken... does this seem like it would provide a pretty good mix of nutrients? Also, are frozen veggies any worse than fresh? I don't even know if they're full of salt or preservatives. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Little_Fish is offline Member
    there is a grocery list thread somehwere on here... just do a search.

Helen in Oz is offline Senior Member
    Here in Australia, regular frozen veggies - just the bags of peas or broccoli or whatever - don't have any additives. They are regarded as a good option - sometimes even better, because they haven't sat in your fridge for a week losing nutrients, but are blanched and snap frozen soon after picking. However watch out for those pre-prepared microwave veggies and such, there's a good chance they are seasoned already so check the ingredients. I don't know what your labeling laws are over there.

Macadamia nuts. Lower in Omega6s, and delicious. I also like Brazil nuts, and maybe some pepitas.

I like Asian greens like Bok Choy and Choy Sum as they are lower in oxalates than spinach.

Bukawww is offline Senior Member
    Here's mine:

Primal Groceries
    Grassfed beef
    Wild Salmon
    Turkey/Chicken
    Uncured bacon
    Beef Jerky
    Local Farm Eggs