Thread: New to Back Squatting: Painful 'spinal bone' page

misterbulgarin is offline Junior Member

New to Back Squatting: Painful 'spinal bone'

Shop Now
    I've converted from Front Squats to back squats, as I found my performance with Front squats had plateaud. And I wanted to try the world of Back Squatting.

Anyway, I studied form and such as I always do, and doing my sets was fine, they're a fun exercise (while they're relatively light). However, the bar sort of hurts my spinal bone, behind my neck, between/above my shoulder blades. Is this just a growing pain (I remember front squats used to cain my wrists big time thanks to the clean grip) or am I doing something drastically wrong.

I have videos, but nnone to show bar position (I only video'd myself to see if my lower back was rounding, and it seemed to be fine)

arthurb999 is offline Senior Member
    It takes a little time to find the sweet spot for the bar... try placing it a little lower.

Stu
    Stu is offline Member
    Try pulling your shoulders back more and making a 'shelf' for the bar to rest on.

Pantera is offline Senior Member
    I had similar experiences. I ended up setting the bar a little higher than recommended until my shoulder flexibility allowed me to move the bar onto the shelf that Stu's talking about. Try doing shoulder dislocates for a while and see whether your shoulder flexibility improves. Make sure to focus on keeping your chest out and lower back flexed as well.

A wider grip than standard may be needed on both exercises initially.

zack726 is offline Junior Member
    PrimalCon New York
    Quote Originally Posted by Stu View Post
    Try pulling your shoulders back more and making a 'shelf' for the bar to rest on.
    Very good point. For people with decent lat/upper back development, the bar should be sitting entirely on muscle and thus your spine shouldn't be hurt/bruised at all.