Thread: New to running, want to start off right page

Starkanda is offline Junior Member

Question New to running, want to start off right

Shop Now
    Hey, hope someone out there has some good advice for me.
    I am going to do a 10k run in the fall, it's with some friends, and I'm not normally into running, and, crazy thing is, when I was big (I've lost 90 lb past year and a few months...) I absolutely HATED running, because it was so jarring, so on, so on. Now, I've tried again, it is not so bad, actually kind of fun, but I need to work my way up, because even though I'm pretty active (swim, play hockey, lift), I am an absolute NOOB at running
    Most of where I'll be running will be concrete, so I am really reluctant to go full-on into barefoot/minimalist, and I was just at a running shoe store last night, and they tried to get me in "stability" shoes, with custom insoles and the whole bit. The useful part is that I see that I do tend to stand very heel heavy, and apparently favor my left side. Oh, and I kinda splay out like a duck when I run. Embarassing LOL.
    There must be a happy medium here.
    My goal is to run comfortably without getting hurt, and I would love to get the form/muscles going properly, so I won't NEED too much support in the shoe department, but I don't want to get torn up! That being said, I LOVE my VFFs, but you won't see me running in them!
    So I guess I'm looking for pearls of wisdom from someone out there, about shoes, training, whatever, to help this running noob.
    Thanks!!

Annlee is offline Senior Member
    A lot of folks on the forum have recommended the counch-to-5K program (one link -- Couch to 5k - C25K Running Program). there's also a couch-to-10K program out there.

When I'm getting started back in, I do 2 things:

1. I have an elliptical (good one) because in the past I damaged one achilles pretty badly, leaving scar tissue in it and I am careful with it. I do my "distance running" on it for the no impact.