Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal wife equals primal life. Itchy's Primal Journal page

itchy166 is offline Senior Member

Primal wife equals primal life. Itchy's Primal Journal

Hello everyone.

I've been here a couple of weeks, and before I get into any more arguments on the forum, I thought I had better start a journal so people can see a little more about who they are talking to.

First a little about myself. I am a 42 year old male, happily married and living in Edmonton, Alberta. I have five children and a granddaughter. I work in the oilfield services industry, and spend quite a bit of time away from home, often finding myself in remote locations where it is very difficult to control my diet. I know it may sound like an excuse, but believe me, its hard to find grass-fed beef when you are a five-hour boat ride from shore or a fifteen hour drive to the nearest major city!!

Anyway, as my career has progressed from a very physically demanding position and into a managerial one, I've slowly but steadily gained weight. This is a pattern I am now trying to reverse.

At 6'4" with a peak weight of 210lbs I'm not terribly heavy, but its the pattern of slow steady weight gain that I am trying to interrupt and reverse. Furthermore, I have been suffering from GI trouble, migraines, sinus problems, energy deficiencies, panic attacks, and low-grade depression, and wanted to see if some of these problems were diet related.

In October last year, I picked up a copy of Tim Ferriss' book, "The four-hour body." I followed his recommendations for a couple of months, and lost about five pounds - but didn't feel any better. I began to research the Primal/Paleo lifestyle next, and read Rob Wolfe's "The Paleo Solution" followed by Mark's Primal Blueprint. (I'm an avid reader.)