Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recent primal convert - feel terrible when training page

the-duncs is offline Junior Member

Recent primal convert - feel terrible when training

Primal Fuel
    Hi guys, I guess this has been asked numerous times before - apologies if so!

I've been eating a no grain / pulse diet for a couple of months, but in the last few weeks took up the 21 day challenge and have been really regulating carb intake to <100g/day. I'm a competitive trail runner, training for a tough season ahead including an off road and hilly marathon.

For the last week I've felt really tired when running - my legs burn, my shoulders feel tight and I feel generally low. I push on and continue to my planned distance; but it's slow and not pretty.

Is this a phase of my body adjusting to burning fats rather than sugars, or am I doing something wrong with that amount of carb intake?

For instance, historically if I've felt tired and needed a pick-me-up when running I'll eat a jelly sweet (massive sugar hit); is it okay to do that, or really stupid to on a paleo diet?

Sorry for newbie questions

Cheers, Dunc

Ps. When I'm not training I feel 100% okay and not low on energy in the slightest. Sleep pattern and general health are all great.
    Last edited by the-duncs; 01-24-2013 at 11:00 AM.

Yes, it's really stupid to eat a jelly donut on this or any other diet.

You're detoxing. Over the first 3 or 4 weeks of strict paleo, you turn your toxin equation upside down. Pre-paleo you were taking in way more toxins than your timid immune system could process thus allowing an accumulation of toxins in your tissues. Reader's Digest version - you had more coming in than going out. By stopping the incoming toxins for a period you've rested and replenished your immune system to the point where it can start pulling the unprocessed toxins from your tissues. So you now have more coming out than going in.