Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lower (carb) the better (for me) page

FireFinder is offline Senior Member

Lower (carb) the better (for me)

Primal Fuel
    I understand that Primal is not a low carb diet. I also understand about myself that I seem to feel, look, sleep, better if I keep my carbs low- meaning, eat eggs, veg, high quality meat and fat. Little dairy and nuts, and pretty much no fruit, and no starch.

When I do eat these things, I seem to get bloated, indigestion, and more than anything crazy cravings for sugar, sweets, carbs. I also have (more of) a tendency toward binging.

Just wondering if anyone else has noticed this tendency in themselves? Is this in my head? Or is there really something to it?

Dignan is offline Junior Member
    I am just getting started (again) and I am taking the same approach except with some dairy (a cup of greek yogurt mixed with a cup of whole milk in a protein shake a couple of times each week).

Eventually, once I hit my goal weight (or body composition, I should really say, since my goal weight is creeping up as I add muscle) and maintain it for a while I will loosen things up a bit and throw in more high-quality carbs like sweet potatoes, root veggies, quinona, and brown/wild rice. But for now, I find it easier to stick to a very narrow plan - from the perspective of both controlling hunger and not giving giving myself an inch that turns into a mile.

I'm sure a lot of other people have the necessary willpower to give themselves more leeway to have a little of this and a little of that without going overboard, but I just don't, and so for me clear thick dark lines are the best.

Richard Seekins is offline Senior Member