Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Obese patient gets mad after I tell her to fast.. page

ulnauy is offline Member

Obese patient gets mad after I tell her to fast..

Primal Fuel
    I am a medical student going into primary care with a special interest in weight loss. I'm rotating through a clinic now where I see many obese patients. Most are diabetic and hypertensive, about half have GERD, and nearly all want to lose weight. I usually get to talk to a patient for 10 minutes before my attending comes in. I use this time to convince them to eat Paleo and live primally. But I run into two problems.

1) My attending believes in hardcore CW. Immediately after I tell a 300lb type 2 diabetic with debilitating vascular foot disease to cut down on carbs, avoid grains, and eat more fat, my attending tells them (with a lot more confidence and gravitas) to get 40% of their calories from carbohydrates, mostly whole grains. He then goes on to tell them to strictly avoid animal fat and eat plenty of dairy and legumes. He has a thing for soybeans and tries to convince every patient to eat them. He believes potatoes are an absolute no-no due to their high glycemic index. He emphasizes to never skip a meal, and to eat 5-6 small meals throughout the day. When one patient asked him what oils to eat, he said vegetable oils! Another asked him if corn counted as a vegetable and he said of course. Nearly all of his patients are over-medicated. He gave a 25 year old woman with a blood pressure of 135/80 and a slightly abnormal lipid profile (normal TG and HDL, slightly high LDL) a beta-blocker and a statin! I can't say anything because he is doing my evaluation.