Thread: Caloric intake page

Jmitchell is offline Junior Member

Question Caloric intake

Shop Now
    Good evening!

I am fairly new to Paleo or primal life style. I have PCOS and while I was doing some research I found some women that had a lot of success with Paleo! I am currently trying to get pregnant, struggling with infertility. I feel great on Paleo and I am loosing weight.

I have a couple questions and was hoping that some women can chime in. My first question is about food amounts. I am having a hard time eating over 1200 calories. I just don't feel hungry enough. Is this ok? Especially where I have PCOS and insulin resistance? I tracked a few days to try to see what I was getting and basically I eat about a thousand calories. I only eat about 50 grams of carbs. So I barely ever eat fruit maybe a half cup of berries for a treat once in a while and it is with coconut milk. On the days I don't eat berries I just don't break 1200 calories. I don't want to go into starvation mode but I'm never hungry.

My other question is about intermittent fasting. It is ok for a woman with PCOS? Are there woman on here who have PCOS or insulin resistance that tried intermittent fasting? What were the results?

Ayla2010 is offline Senior Member
    Well most of us here find eating the higher fats, keeps us satisfied for much longer, so of course eat less.
    What are your fat sources?
    Starvation mode is a CW thing, when you are actually starving and not eating.

Not sure on PCOS and fasting, but fasting I feel great.
    But I would not attempt to try until fully fat adapted, or you will probably get hungry and not feel great.
    I tried it last year, but was not ready and it made me binge.
    I am up to nearly 40 hours of a half fast (bulletproof coffee and bone broth only) and I still feel good. Hopefully someone will PCOS will answer this for you soon.

Oh how long have you been doing it?
    Do you have much to lose?