Thread: "Formally" primal page

suechef is offline Member

"Formally" primal

Primal Fuel
    Hello,

I joined yesterday and have made some posts but not an intro. Story in brief, I'm 46, an athlete when kid/teen, but binge eater. On and off the workout bandwagon over the years. Between 4-6 years ago I lost about 60 lbs eating low fat, lots of veggies, fruits, whole grains, yadayada, and working out like a demon (jogging, big mistake for someone with bad knees, swimming with master's swim club, some weights). Was in pain, obsessed with food, obsessed with cardio & burning calories. But I did lose the weight.

Read more and more about nutrition, did some experiments like cutting sugar entirely for a month (no more joint pain). Learned that more fat made me feel better, and no grains or sugar made me feel even better. I am a cook so never had much of an issue with processed foods, we make everything from scratch around here. Anyway, through reading and experimentaion I discovered primal works best for me, though I didn't know it was called that.

However - my husband and I travel a lot, for work & pleasure, and sometimes it's a pain in the neck avoiding certain things, so I would just decide "okay, it's a hassle, I'm just going to eat it". This winter I was under some stress, eating too many carbs, getting cravings for more - gained somewhere between 15-20 pounds (not sure how much, was afraid to get on the scale because I knew it would depress me). Also getting depressed and lots of aches and pains.