Thread: Hello all! I'm totally new to Primal living! (on day 5) page

Talking Hello all! I'm totally new to Primal living! (on day 5)

Shop Now
    Hi, my name is Molly and I am 40, happily married for 16 years, and mother of 2 sons (currently 8 & 6). As you can see from my MDA name, I love horses. I have 3, and last summer started riding competitively again after an 8 year hiatus. Dressage is my drug of choice.

Why am I at MDA? I want to lose weight. I gained weight in college, lost weight on weight watchers for my wedding. Maintained a healthy weight for 8 years, had my first child (gained 60 pounds, lost it easily). Next, had my second child. Again gained 60 pounds, and as of today I am still 20 pounds over my healthy weight. I am borderline overweight on BMI charts- not horrible. But. Not good either.

So last Jan/Feb 2012, I lost 10 pounds on South Beach (easily) and went on a dream vacation with my sister to Mexico. This is when I fell in love with low carb diets. I have slowly gained back the weight over the past year, so I am back at where I was before I lost those 10 pounds. I started up the South Beach again this past Saturday (Dec 28), and on Dec 29 I found MDA.

I've been reading success stories pretty regularly since then! So I have been switching over to Primal eating- it is definitely more satisfying than South Beach (focuses on low fat, lean protein - I've never been a fan of low fat stuff).

I am excited to be here and get to know the community. I've loved how positive the community seems. I can't wait to meet you all!

And now for the meet & greet questions:

Your location: Dryden, NY (central NY- farm country! but near Ithaca (Cornell University, Ithaca College)

How Primal are you:
    Very! And newly!

Do you consume dairy: Yes- hard cheese, cream cheese, heavy cream, sour cream- that's it

Do you drink coffee or tea:
    COFFEE and don't even TRY to take it away

Motivator for switching to Primal: