Thread: Eating Tips for Endurance Cyclist page

Darin G is offline Junior Member

Eating Tips for Endurance Cyclist

Shop Now
    Hello all,

I'm a newbie to PB. I decided to try PB after 4 months of frustration with Weightwatchers. In the past I've tried the Zone, South Beach and Weightwatchers with varying degrees of success. I usually can do them for about 4 months and then get bored or fatigued with keeping track of the details. With every diet I tend to lose about 20 pounds and then get stuck around 185. I'm once again down to 185 from 207 after Christmas. Hopefully PB can push me through that barrier.

I'm hoping to ride a century in late May, a charity ride in June and maybe a 200 KM brevet in July. I have a decent amount of experience with endurance sports (1 marathon, three half marathons, 1 century, multiple metrics, multi-day mountain bike tours, multi-day backpacking trips). I typically commute 23 miles round trip on my bike 3-4 days per week then put in a 40-60 one of the weekend days.

I did a 50 miler yesterday on a moderately hilly route, which normally I do easily but experienced a soft bonk despite adding a potato to breakfast and eating a Pro-Bar halfway through. I ended up exhausted, with a twinge of nausea and a bad headache. I drank plenty of water. I don't ride hard or race and stay very much within the 55-75 of max HR except when climbing. Looking to hear the voice of experience with respect to eating primal and managing the energy demands of this activity which I very much enjoy.

Stu
    Stu is offline Member
    How long ago did you make the transition?