Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal Journal - lpeppersauce page

Primal Journal - lpeppersauce

Shop Now
    I'm new to Primal today (along with a lot of other New Years people, I'm sure), but I've been lurking on the forums for a few weeks and I figured a journal was a good way to get started. So here's my story. Sorry it's a little long.

I was always a little bit overweight as a teenager, but not too bad. Even when I went from being a very active high schooler to a relatively sedentary college student, I was never particularly concerned about it. That all changed in the summer before my senior year of college in 2007. First I got sick for a few weeks, most likely with mono, then got Bells Palsy, which means that one of my cranial nerves became severely inflamed (in my case, partially amputated) and half of my face was paralyzed. I went on prednisone for the inflammation, which seems to have aggravated an existing condition, PCOS, that I didn't know I had. Long story short, I went on prednisone for ten days and then gained 50 pounds in less than six months. Needless to say, this was all a pretty big blow to my self esteem. I went from a healthy-ish girl who smiled a lot to a fat girl who couldn't smile normally, blink one eye, or drink from a soda can (I can't press my lips together). The nerve then regrew wrong, so I could blink, but it made my mouth twitch, and trying to smile made my eye close. After a bunch of physical therapy, I've separated those movements, but I still can't smile on one side, and I have to get botox in my eyebrow four times a year to relax the overly-tight spastic muscles there.