Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Primal eating / stopping alcohol cravings page

Sanderooblue is offline Junior Member

Wink Primal eating / stopping alcohol cravings

Primal Fuel
    Hello, I believe that a paleo, primal diet makes transitioning from a practicing alcoholic to a non drinker vital.
    I stopped drinking and addressed my health and diet issues all at once. I went paleo and stopped sugar and white processed stuff. I was shocked to see how many alcoholics are seriously addicted to sugar. A typical AA meeting has large bowls of candy and or donuts. EVERYONE complains of how to deal with alcohol cravings, but when I got sober I stopped everything that I craved and I DON'T crave alcohol. This is a fascinating theory. Imagine if alcoholism is just a by product of SAD diet. I am a bartender by trade and I DON'T crave alcohol.

bamabelle is offline Senior Member
    That is awesome! It makes sense that it would work for some alcoholics! Congrats and keep up the awesome journey! LOTS to celebrate

jo
    jo is offline Senior Member
    Congratulations of quitting drinking. I think for many people diet is a significant issue when it comes to addiction.

Paleobird Guest
    In this video, Dr Robert Lustig shows how sugar and alcohol are very similar in the way they are processed by the body and the brain receptors they excite. The connection between sugar and alcohol is real.

Sugar: The Bitter Truth - YouTube

Terry H is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Paleobird View Post
    In this video, Dr Robert Lustig shows how sugar and alcohol are very similar in the way they are processed by the body and the brain receptors they excite. The connection between sugar and alcohol is real.

Good video, BTW. I heard this back in the early 80's but didn't know what to make of it. A friend who struggled with alcoholism also had a terrible time trying to quit sugar.

Vanessa is offline Junior Member