Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Christmas Cooking..... Next year I'll.....? page

Salkeela is offline Junior Member

Christmas Cooking..... Next year I'll.....?

Okay so I'm new to Primal (1st Dec this year) and Christmas crept up on us.... So I cooked all the usual fare and just took a Primal "holiday" for Christmas Day and Boxing Day (gotta finish up some of those things today ...).

So NEXT year I want to think this through more.....

Our typical menu is:

Smoked salmon on Irish Wheaten Bread

Turkey with Sage and Onion Stuffing
    Smoked Roasted Ham with Bread Sauce
    Roast Potatoes
    Creamed Potatoes

Roast carrots and parsnips
    Brussell Sprouts
    Gravy thickened with flour
    Cranberry sauce

Plum pudding with brandy butter and cream

Cheese board and crackers

Thankfully I don't eat chocolate in the first place as it gives me migraine, so those sickly milk chocolates are really easy to give up!

So by NEXT year I hope to be better organised to make kale crackers for the cheese, and invent some sort of Plum pud that is not flour based.....

And if any of you Primal experts can throw some interesting ideas into the mix ..... then I'm totally listening!

oliviascotland is offline Senior Member
    Well, this year was my second Primal Christmas, and things are slightly better than last year's efforts. I used quite a lot of almond flour baking products this year (Gluten free, grain free, high protein and healthyElana's Pantry | Gluten free, grain free, high protein and healthy).

Our Christmas menu wasn't perfect by a long shot, but went as follows:

Smoked salmon on almond bread
    Roast goose stuffed with onions and Cox's Orange Pippins
    Roast potatoes (but only 1 each)
    Roast Brussels sprouts
    Steamed carrots
    Home-made cranberry sauce sweetened with honey instead of sugar (which no-one ate)