Thread: Primal Journal ^*Tiki Jane*^ page

Tiki Jane is offline Junior Member

Primal Journal ^*Tiki Jane*^

Primal Fuel
    My darling husband has been on board with the Atkins/Eads/low carb approach for a long time, but I was more skeptical. He corresponded with Dr Eads and was chosen to do "The 6 Week Cure for the Middle Aged Middle" last August (we're just a little older than Mark!). About the same time, he came down with gout and a really bad cold! We put the plan on hold and next thing we knew - it was March. I came across Mark's book The Primal Blueprint and was hooked. His approach was realistic, but light hearted - fun! What a concept! But the failure of our efforts last summer with the Eads' plan was a reality check: even with a book, we were always scrambling for ingredients or trying to plan meals. I'm a public high school teacher with 20 minutes for lunch and a 40 minute commute. My husband works at home and is usually either on the phone or in front of his computer (or both).

So this time around, I'm doing a lot more prep. I'm looking for menus, sources for ingredients - especially organic meats and oils. We do have several farms within 100 miles that sell organic beef, lamb and pork. We're putting in a garden and getting Indian Runner ducklings (they're great layers) this month, but home production is at least 8 weeks away. I live in an isolated rural area where the nearest organic grocery store is 55 miles away. Finding MDA and links to other sites have helped a lot. I want to have at least 3 weeks of menus in place before we start and that's what I'm doing now.