Thread: High Calories, Still Losing Weight page

solanumflower is offline Junior Member

High Calories, Still Losing Weight

Primal Fuel
    Greetings. My name is Jason and I have a question. I've been following a natural, whole foods diet now for 7 years and have transitioned to paleo about a month ago. I decided to do this to continue to reach my fitness goals, which includes losing as much body fat as possible, but also to maintain and gain muscle. I also am in alignment with the ideas about the nutritional issues surrounding grains and legumes, and feel passionate about attempting to live as much like my ancestors did, in general.

I am 5'6" and 27 years old. I was a 125 lb., skinny, but toned and fit person person my entire life and yet I didn't realize until just over a year ago when I started lifting weights that at 125lbs I was not as strong, or big, as I could, or even should, be. Essentially, I feel that I have learned that in my life I have not been eating large enough portions of food, or getting enough heavy weight lifting in, to be at a weight where I am in my fullest power.

A few months after beginning weight training at the gym, I started a more intensive strength training program, and many people within this community encouraged bulking by eating an excess of calories. I did so, eating sometimes over 3,000 calories a day. I went from 125 to 160 in a few months. I got too fat, more fat than I've ever been. I wasn't healthy.

Since then, I've easliy lost all that weight by cutting calories. I haven't even been working out as much because my schedule is different. I do still work out a few times per week though, occasionally doing heavy lifting including squats and deadlifts and work a physical labor job.

I am now weighing in at 130 lbs. I know it's just a number, but I'm seeing my weight continue to drop since starting paleo EVEN THOUGH I've made it a point to eat between 2000 and 3000 calories a day.