Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hair Loss page

bonobo is offline Junior Member

Hair Loss

Hello,
    Hair loss seems rather pandemic among low carbers. Over the years, I've heard of lots of people who claim to have had severe hair loss on low carb, even more so than they did when they were on calorie-restricting starvation diets. One lady I talked to claimed her hair never returned to its previous thickness, even years after her weight loss/diet.

Now, I know that paleo dieters are generally more lenient with carbohydrate intake. So I was curious if any paleo dieters here have had problems with hair loss since going on the paleo diet?

Sungrazer is offline Senior Member
    My hair loss occurred before I went primal, even long before I thought about any diets or lifestyle changes. I've been shaving my noggin since I was 22 years old some 20 odd years ago. What I have noticed however is that my beard is denser now than before I went primal.
    Sometimes you need to be told the truth in order to be able to see it.

My journal

I see grain people...

Exist in shadow, drifting away.

Cymro is offline Junior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Sungrazer View Post
    What I have noticed however is that my beard is denser now than before I went primal.
    Hmm, your testosterone dollars at work?

Sungrazer is offline Senior Member
    Maybe the primal blueprint promotes sexual markers in both men and women? Such as wide shoulders, narrow hips, strong legs, powerful jawline and brows in men. Hair on the jaw and brows would make these appear larger and more masculine. Where as on women the same markers would be hourglass figure, small chin, dense hair, ample breasts and a big butt?

Just some thoughts.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seconda...characteristic
    Last edited by Sungrazer; 04-17-2010 at 06:04 AM. Reason: Added link about Secondary Sex Characteristics
    Sometimes you need to be told the truth in order to be able to see it.

My journal