Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Paleo triathlete wanting to try ketogenic diet - a few questions page

Remy is offline Junior Member

Paleo triathlete wanting to try ketogenic diet - a few questions

Shop Now
    Hello,
    So I've been eating pretty close to paleo for a few years now. I have no problem not eating grains and eating plenty of fats. I do eat lots of fruits and vegetables. I would say my macro split is probably around 1/3 protein, 1/3 carbs, 1/3 fats.

I'm wanting to get into a ketogenic diet. Mainly, due to the anti-cancer benefits as my family has a strong history of prostrate cancer. But I have a few questions. Most revolve around ketosis and triathlons.

I know I have to go ultra-low carb to get adapted into using ketone bodies for a few weeks. No problem. However, from reading research and info from other paleo/low carb endurance athletes, I would be wasting potential if I didn't use carbs during long workouts and races. So here are my questions:

1) If I get into a ketone adapted phase and use certain carbs and fats for fuels during races, does this take me out of ketosis at all? Is there any research showing a certain carb threshold that allows you to stay in ketosis?

2) If I'm at a suboptimal ketogenic stage, is it even worth it to go through the adaptation phase? I don't want to go through a few weeks of feeling like hell unless it's worth it. Should I just stay with a paleo diet?

3) Best carb source for endurance activities? I know there's a lot of info out there on this and I haven't done enough research but I thought I would add this questions as well. I've been looking at superstarch and palitinose.

Thanks guys and sorry for the dumb newbie questions!

Zach is offline Banned
    First, why do you think that ketosis has anti-cancer benefits?

Second, check out Lyle Mcdonald for all things ketosis. Also Anthony Colpo knows quite a bit, here was a recent article he wrote on the subject.