Thread: Much needed weight gain page

Paul is offline Junior Member

Much needed weight gain

Shop Now
    Guys I am desperately trying to put weight on, but I just can't seem to manage it, any suggestions on how to improve the following diet would be greatly appreciated Also I try to follow the crossfit wods.

Breakfast yogurt mix of;
    1 apple,
    1 banana
    30g Mixed nuts
    50g blueberries
    100g Natural yogurt

Breakfast shake
    200ml of coconut milk
    3 raw eggs
    50g of almonds

Lunch
    150g/200g Chicken/Beef
    stir fry mix of veg
    2 sweet potatoes

Afternoon shake
    200ml of coconut milk
    3 raw eggs
    50g of almonds

Dinner
    150g/200g of Chicken/Beef
    veg
    50g of nuts
    25g of dark chocolate

I am currently 140lb,
    5ft 10in

Graycat is offline Senior Member
    I'm not an expert on *intentional* weight gain, but I'd add some more fats and cut waaay back on the almonds. The coconut milk is good fat, but it's the kind that gets burned for energy by the body right after it's consumed. Try for butter, ghee, olive oil and fattier (and more) meats. I'd eat more aged cheese, too.

Basically for weight gain, more fat and even more carbs should definitely help.

And please cut back on the nuts. Or at least have some other kind such as macadamias or pecans. Almonds have too many inflammatory PUFAs.

Leida is offline Senior Member
    Uhm, I think you can gain weight by starting to eat about a pound of meat with your meals instead of tiny portions you have now. Honestly, it's a tiny 5-6 oz you are consuming with one meal. Make sure you are eating skin and fat. Add pork to your diet, like pork belly and chops with a lot of fat on them. Throw in some innards. Go for the cheap, fatty bulk cuts of meat, cook them in a slow cooker or in large portions, and just eat to your hearts' content. If you are trying to gain weight, I am surprised you are even bothering with measuring...