Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to explain to the relatives!! page

longjogroz is offline Junior Member

how to explain to the relatives!!

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    hello everyone, i'm fairly new to the primal scene & still adjusting. I have no problems with food at home (apart from a tendency to lapse into chocolate!) & the change to paleo eating has made me realise that i do have problems with wheat. I'm looking for a bit of advice or suggestions as to what, exactly, to tell the in-laws! We go round most Sundays for lunch. This week i told them i'd discovered a wheat allergy, & my mother-in-law immediately went on a shopping spree in the "Free From" section of the supermarket & emerged with bags of rice cakes, mushroom risotto & quinoa with red kidney beans. I subtly "forgot" to bring them home with me, but i'm not sure she'll take the hint. Feeling a bit ungrateful... I haven't really been primal long enough or strictly enough to be looking spectacularly fit & lean!

NZ primal Gwamma is offline Senior Member
    I wouldn't bother with the explanations, if I was you. However everytime you go to the in laws, take a plate of primal goodies to 'share' !!!!!! which means you can eat till your heart is content !!!
    good luck
    "never let the truth get in the way of a good story "

...small steps....

magicmerl is offline Senior Member
    I think that a wheat allergy will take you a LONG way.

Just deal with the wheat free Sunday lunch as a cheat day.
    Disclaimer: I eat 'meat and vegetables' ala Primal, although I don't agree with the carb curve. I like Perfect Health Diet and WAPF Lactofermentation a lot.

Griff's cholesterol primer
    5,000 Cal Fat <> 5,000 Cal Carbs
    Winterbike: What I eat every day is what other people eat to treat themselves.
    TQP: I find for me that nutrition is much more important than what I do in the gym.
    bloodorchid is always right

Louisa655 is offline Senior Member