Thread: Struggling with cooking page

AJMo478 is offline Junior Member

Struggling with cooking

Hi everyone. I am new to the forums and have been primal for a few short months. I am an awful cook and just started cooking for myself in order to find substitute foods for everything that I am accustomed to eating. Our lovely grains. Can anyone offer any simple recipes for a beginner and also, a better substitute for pasta other than spaghetti squash? I have made it twice and the squash is just too "squishy" for me (gee, what do you know).

I have lost 25 lbs in just under 3 months and i'm only 10 away from where I wanted to be!

Any suggestions? Thanks everyone!
    Andy

ryanmercer is online now Senior Member
    There are several cookbooks out there. Plenty of paleo recipies on here and other sites too.

It's easy to make your own salsa or tomato sauce, that would be a good practice one. Soups and chilis are similarly easy.
    -Ryan Mercer my blog and Genco Peptides my small biz

yodiewan is online now Senior Member
    It sounds like you're trying to recreate non-Primal foods. It's ok to do that every now and then, but for the majority of your meals, it's best to just change your mentality and eat real food. Sear some steaks, fry or scramble some eggs, roast some veggies.

If those things are too "boring" there are tons of great paleo/primal recipes and webiste. I really like the Everyday Paleo cookbooks. Lots of simple fast recipes in those.

Jesster is offline Member
    Get a slow cooker. Chuck ingredients in, go to work, get back from work and dinner's ready. Job done!

Eh, ditch the pasta - it's entirely unnecessary. Make the sauces you want anyway and don't bother trying to mimic noodles. I mean, let's look at some of the favorite pastas I used to make pre-primal:

1) Spaghetti. These days, I make the same, chunky meat sauce I always used to, and I eat it with a fork.