Thread: Holiday Concerns

Holiday Concerns

Shop Now
    Hello!
    I am new to the Primal lifestyle and am concerned about eating my holiday favorites. My family has a danish dish every year similar to pancakes and makes sugar cookies. I am going to eat it and am not looking for primal alternatives with this once a year 'feast' but I have only been eating primally for 15 days. I have experienced the low carb flu and it has been some what challenging to give up desserts. My question is, if I indulge over the holidays will I have to start my progress and 'withdrawal' all over again? I don't want to waste all of the hard work and progress I've made, but I also don't want to feel frustrated and deprived on Christmas. Thanks!

I took a break this summer and found that restarting was easier - no carb flu symptoms. It was a bit tough to get back into the right mindset, though - I really had to purge the kitchen of all the "slippery slope" items, e.g. dark chocolate. I decided to take a break this holiday season, as well. Nothing out of control, but if something is homemade and looks worthwhile despite being non-primal, I'm eating it. Then it's back to the grind after New Year's!

It depends on what you mean by indulging.

We just had our work christmas party, and I kid you not, the appertiser options were meat, bread and doughnuts as dessert. So I ate a whole lote of meat, and 'cheated' with some breaded fish.

Little stuff isn't going to kill you, particularly for a short time. (disclaimer: as long as you aren't sensitive to the 'bad' foods you take in, in which case, stop doing that).
    Disclaimer: I eat 'meat and vegetables' ala Primal, although I don't agree with the carb curve. I like Perfect Health Diet and WAPF Lactofermentation a lot.

Griff's cholesterol primer
    5,000 Cal Fat <> 5,000 Cal Carbs
    Winterbike: What I eat every day is what other people eat to treat themselves.