Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What kind of Doctor? page

Cryptocode is offline Senior Member

Question What kind of Doctor?

Shop Now
    Hi!

I'm very new to Primal and this site. I really need help. I'm considerably older than most of you, and find I've been a complete victim of the FDA and the HMO's and medicare. Because I'm in pretty seriously bad condition, is there a type of professional that can help me in primal type nutrition? I've been to the regular AMA nutrionists, and am told to eat high-fiber cerals, which made be very sick.

So far, i've been on Primal 2 weeks and feel very much better, but I have some other problems I'd like specific help with. I have stringy poops that won't come out. This may be caused by pre cancerous polyps which I also have. Is there anything to help that? I also have an increasingly arthritic right hip which makes exercising (by walking) difficult.

I'd really appreciate any replies.
    Last edited by Cryptocode; 12-11-2012 at 06:29 PM.

Loneketo is offline Senior Member
    A naturopath may be something your looking for? The chances of them following primal/paleo is anyone's guess.

Thank you. There is a California Naturopathic Clinic not too far from my home. I'll give them a call.

They are also on facebook. Is this the kind of place that looks good?

Neckhammer is online now Senior Member
    Many different types of doctors (ND's, DC's, DO's, even some MD's) practice functional medicine. You might consider finding one trained in that approach.

There is a directory here Functional Medicine Doctors | Certified Practitioner Directory - Welcome

And here Institute for Functional Medicine

marcadav is online now Senior Member
    My take-- the "type' of medical professional that can help you is any that will:
    1. Listen to you.
    2. Take your concerns seriously
    3. Work WITH you to find the cause and best treatment for the issues you are facing.