Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Battling phantom limb hunger page

jeneves is offline Junior Member

Battling phantom limb hunger

Shop Now
    Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to the primal way of eating (approx. 6 weeks). A huge challenge I am finding right now is managing my hunger and appetite around when I feel I should eat with when Iím actually hungry.

Prior to finding the primal way my diet consisted of probably 80% grains. As a result I was constantly hungry and this was something I worked hard to avoid. I believed that skipping breakfast was a totally unhealthy thing to do. And if I did (skip breakfast or any meal for that matter)I would experience all the symptoms of low blood sugars and would end up feeling frantic for something to eat.

Thank god that even after only 6 weeks of eating primal this I have not experienced since. My appetite and feelings of hunger is such a different experience for me now. Itís wonderful.

However I am finding it very difficult to pull back on how much I am eating. I feel compelled to have 3 full meals a day with snacks in between and itís not my hunger thatís driving this! I feel like itís been engrained in to my brain all these pre-established rules around when a person should eat. Then combined with this feeling I have that I should avoid feeling too hungry or else Iíll end up feeling hypoglycemic and overeating Ė which is a pre-primal phenomena, I am finding it quite difficult to cut back.