Thread: What to do with a pheasant breast? page

Jesster is offline Member

What to do with a pheasant breast?

Primal Fuel
    I'm new to all of this primal malarkey, but when the neighbour came around with a brace of pheasant from the local shoot, who was I to turn him away?

I've cut the breast out, some bits have gone to the dog and I binned the rest. *flinches in anticipation of expected shouting* (Please don't tell me I could have made some moccasins out of it)

....so what's a good recipe for pheasant breast? (and does it involve bacon fat. This would be a good thing.)

Mr. Anthony is online now Senior Member
    Put it in the slow cooker and then pull it apart and make some enchiladas. Fantastic. You'll have to find a good primal enchilada recipe, or anything that you could use pulled pork for.

Kaylee99 is offline Senior Member
    Wrap in bacon and slow roast. (I'm assuming it will be a very lean meat. Its been years since I've had pheasant.)
    See what I'm up to: The Primal Gardener

Scros10 is offline Junior Member
    I just seasoned it and grilled it in bacon fat. Simple and easy...

AuroraB is offline Senior Member
    I used to put it in the crockpot with some gravy. It's very dry meat, IMO.
    Pheasant is our state bird and even though I live in pheasant country, I can't seem to choke it down w/o it being soaked in some kind of sauce or gravy (made with red wine, of course).

Bacon wrapped sounds very succulent though....

seaweed is offline Senior Member
    Hunter Angler Gardener Cook has a section on pheasant. google too. i pan roasted the last one with bacon, cream and mushroom sauce. left over bits can be anything? make stock with them and then make a reduction and make gravy with it or add it to the cream sauce.

oliviascotland is offline Senior Member