Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shopping for food page

PinkBow is offline Junior Member

Shopping for food

I am preparing to start eating the primal diet. I am a student living at home and my food has always been bought for me. Since I am just starting to buy my own food, I have no experience with planning meals for a weeks time. I was hoping you all would be willing to share an example of what you buy for a weeks worth of food at the grocery store. If possible I would also like to know some estimates on how much you spend on a weeks worth of food for one person.

Thanks

otzi Guest
    If you want to make things much, much simpler...when you go shopping, just buy real food. Don't buy processed foods, and by processed, I mean things like pop-tarts, potato chips, doritoes, hamburger helper, cookies, brownies, soda or any beverage. Drink water, tea, or coffee.

Buy lots of fruit, vegetables, meat, cheese, nuts, etc... It's hard to say wht it will cost per week...$100? When you go shopping, look what's in the carts of the obese masses...don't buy that stuff!

We don't know anything about you other than you are probably an 18yo female.

Some universal advice I wish I'd gotten when I was 18: Avoid things in which the major ingredients are sugar, flour, and vegetable oil.

Damiana is offline Senior Member
    I buy a lot of vegetables, meats, eggs. For my condinents, I buy miso. For a snack, I buy olives. That's pretty much the only thing that brings me to the center of the store. I eat pretty much the sane thing every day so I spend about $50 a week on food. I live near a lot of ethnic food markets so I get my produce and meatsinexpensively. I don't buy organic or grass fed.
    F 28/5'4/100 lbs

"I'm not a psychopath, I'm a high-functioning sociopath; do your research."

Louisa655 is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by PinkBow View Post