Thread: Need Encouragement page

iwantit is offline Junior Member

Need Encouragement

Hi guys! This is my first time posting. I probably should have posted somewhere else but I thought what better place to get this info than from people who've had success. I've been eating primal, around 90/10 for about a month. My ratios have been around 25% protein, 55% fat and 20% carbs. I am a huge emotional/stress eater and recently gained almost 20 pounds in 3 months. Since going primal I haven't had the sugar cravings and haven't gorged like I used to, which I think is a success. However, I've only lost 3 pounds. I do notice a little more definition in my shoulders but not really changes anywhere else. I'm writing because I really believe in this method but I'm trying not to get discouraged. Did anybody else start their journey like this? How did you handle it and how long did it take to really start noticing changes? I really don't want to give up! Thanks in advance for any advice!

Paleobird Guest
    First of all welcome.

Second, you lost three pounds in a month. That's not so bad. Getting rid of the cravings and binging behavior is a huge step forward.

You may be replacing some of your fat with muscle as you are getting more active.
    I would suggest you take tape measurements to keep track of your progress instead of relying only on the scale.

Also, Primal eating makes it easier to cut back on calories without feeling like you want to gnaw your arm off but the macro ratios alone are not magic. You still have to keep an eye on your total caloric intake. Are you tracking at all? There are a lot of programs such as SparkPeople and Chron-o-Meter that can be very helpful.

Stick it out. You can do this.

U2sandrah is offline Senior Member
    hi there! im going through exactly the same! one month, improving on discipline, getting towards 80/20
    eating, no scale budging!