Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is buckwheat a grain? page

ChasingButterfly is offline Junior Member

Arrow Is buckwheat a grain?

Primal Fuel
    Dear Primal users,

I am a novice here, seeking for help. My doctor wants me to go grain-free for at least a few weeks to try and heal a series of GI symptoms (they have stopped being invalidating since going gluten-free, but have not disappeared yet).

Can anyone tell me if this means I have to let go of buckwheat as well? I seem to understand it is not a grain, but am not sure this means it would be allowed. Not that I use buckwheat on a regular basis, but on the rare occasions I bake something for myself (even most GF items are off limits because they contain tapioca/cassava, which I cannot have), that's what I use.

Also (and think the answer here is "no") : I have been eating a GF bread by Julian Bakery (the Carb Zero, all the others containing millet are off-limits for me), which uses oat fiber (not bran, not flour). Would this be ok in a grain-free diet?

Thanks for listening! Just trying to figure out which parts of my pantry are not OK at the moment!

j3nn is online now Senior Member
    Buckwheat isn't a grain but I don't think it's Primal-approved. It's a pseudo-grain. If you properly soak it before eating it, it helps reduce the negative effects. But you should run it by your doc first. Likely answer will be to avoid it while on elimination.

I like Julian Bakery's low carb paleo bread, the coconut one. However, it has psyllium in it, so run that by your doctor too. Psyllium is a known gut irritant for some people. Check out chowstalker.com and dessertstalker.com for paleo baked goods. Also fastpaleo.com
    | My (food) Blog | Follow me on Facebook | Pinterest | Twitter |

“It does not take a majority to prevail, but rather an irate, tireless minority, keen on setting brushfires of freedom in the minds of men.” - Samuel Adams

Hi, j3nn,