Thread: Advice on how heavy my weights should be please page

PaleoMum is offline Member

Advice on how heavy my weights should be please

Shop Now
    Hi - I'm a 40-year-old woman and have recently got into weight training for the first time. Loving it but I think I maybe need a bit more kit. At the moment I only have an 8kg kettlebell and I'd like to buy some dumbbells but I'm not sure how heavy they should be. With the kettlebell I can do about 12+ of the clean and the snatch (hope I'm getting the technical terms right) but struggle to do 10 of the shoulder press. I guess you need to have lighter dumbells because you hold two of them?
    Obviously I'm a complete novice! Any help appreciated. BTW I don't have access to a gym, everything's got to be at home.

inesenite is offline Senior Member
    When I started lifting weights at home (at the time - following a book New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women - it's really good book for beginners), I got a set of adjustable dumbells and a matching bar. That way my dumbells started at 2 kgs each, bar was 7,5 kgs and I had about 25 kgs of extra weights (0.5-2.5 kg sizes) I could add onto them - perfect starter kit! It is not worth buying set weight dumbells as they are not flexible enough and you won't be able do progress without buying a new set.

Thanks for the advice - I think I'll do that!

RichMahogany is offline Senior Member
    Sounds like the dumbbells you have are too light to be of much use. Unless you need a new set of bookends or 2 doorstops.

Coach Palfrey is offline Senior Member
    I am hideously biased but an adjustable sandbag (see my sig) could be a useful option that will allow you to easily increase the weight as your improve.

Leida is offline Senior Member
    Depending on which exercise you are planning on using the dumbbells for. Lighter dumbbells are far cheaper than heavier ones.

At your KB weight, I would get a set of 5, 10 and 15 lbs dumbells to start with.