Thread: Advice for aspiring scientists page

The Scientist is offline Member

Advice for aspiring scientists

Primal Fuel
    This post is a response to an inquiry from Whitefox in a different forum asking for advice related to careers in sciences. Just to be open about where I am coming from: my BS is in Biochemistry from a small, private liberal arts college, my PhD is from a major (top 25, but not Harvard or Stanford) research university, and I am currently a research fellow running a project focused on the biochemistry of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease at the research foundation of a major hospital. I am also a new professor at a nearby university and teach courses in Human Physiology and Genetics. I like lists, so I'll just jump right in.

1. A BA or BS in biology will not get you very far if research is your goal. The market is saturated and the pay is poor.

2. An MS would help, but the MS degree in biology is fading and most people avoid it because financial aid is limited compared to the PhD. I would advise against it unless you have something very specific you are trying to do, and an MS is the best fit for it.

3. If you know you love research (please try it out in a lab for a summer first, at a minimum), a PhD from a reputable research university is a great career option. If the best you can get into is a mediocre state school, I would advise against it. You will always be at the bottom rung and it is hard to work out of that.

4. A major upside of a PhD at a good university is that there is no debt involved. Tuition is waved, and a stipend (25-30K is the norm) and health insurance are provided, giving you a fairly comfortable but simple life. If you don't get your own funding, you may have to teach part time to make this happen.