Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Question about Fasting/IF'ing page

Shelly6 is offline Member

Question about Fasting/IF'ing

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Bear with me, I'm still pretty new to all this stuff....

I have toyed with fasting and IF'ing in the past, after having gone Primal. Unfortunately, about 15 hours is my "comfort" limit--anything longer than that and I start to get HUNGRY. So, I usually eat. One day I did make it 24 hours, but I was ravenous and my energy level had plummeted from good (morning) to so-so (afternoon) to slug (mid afternoon) to DOA (evening).

My question is, should I stick with my 15-16 hours and go with it and see if I can gradually lengthen the time, even by 15-20 minutes per day? Or should I just suck it up and do a 24 hour fast, energy level be darned? I would like to see some weight loss happen. I'm not overweight, but I'm not as slim as I would like to be/could be/have been in the past. I'm thinking 5-8 pounds of loss would be great, and I think I'd feel better.

I have read about how to become fat adapted and have done what I've read/heard, but it seems like after almost 3 months I should be there by now and be able to go longer than from dinner to a late lunch the next day without feeling like I could eat the table cloth

ETA: The times I have (tried) to fast, it was water only and nothing else.

Diana Renata is offline Senior Member
    I've been incorporating more fasting into my routine. It seems sort of natural with weather setting in, and in the wild food would become more sporadic. Anywho, I pulled 41 hours last week, and am aiming for 48-72 hours this week.