Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: At a crossroad page

TheTeddy is offline Member

At a crossroad

Primal Fuel
    I love climbing, and parkour, and I'm just getting into gymnastic feats like levers an such. So now I'm torn with how to train for all three at once. For climbing, you need endurance and power. For parkour you need power and balance. And for gymnastic skills you need balance and strength. There's some overlap between them, but I can't decide how I want to train. Like, a baseline routine. I was considering convict conditioning, and then modifying it with other exercises, like dips and plyo pushups. What do you all think? Any advice is helpful.

zoebird is offline Senior Member
    i think if you just do those things, you'll be fine.

RichMahogany is online now Senior Member
    I think you should do barbell training until you are adequately strong, then practice these things later.

sbhikes is online now Senior Member
    I would think the climbing, the parkour and the gymnastics would be training in and of themselves.

There's a saying in the hiking community that the best way to train to go backpacking is to go backpacking.
    Female, 5'3", 49, Starting weight: 163lbs. Current weight: 135 (more or less).
    Starting squat: 45lbs. Highest squat: 167.5 x 2. Current Deadlift: 190 x 3

nojoke is offline Member
    Train for your specialty, dont beat around the bush and makes thing more complicated than they are. Accept the fact you will absolutely suck at some skills, and kickass at the others. Pick a goal, and train for it.