Thread: a few questions from a newbie! page

juliebeannn is offline Junior Member

Question a few questions from a newbie!

Primal Fuel
    Helloooo -- I'm a Paleo/Primal newbie, with only about 3 weeks under my belt. Now that I've done it for a few weeks, I have a few questions.

1) Since I've started this new way of eating, I'm never super hungry but I also noticed, I'm never FULL. Is that normal? I still roughly count my calories and I've been reaching an average of about 1600-1800 cals a day (macro breakdown of 20C/30P/50F; 28yo female @ 135lbs). How am I never full? Is it just that paleo/primal-full is just a different feeling from grain-full?

2) I find that light-headed a lot. When I get up from sitting, I have to take a second for the light-headedness to go away to start moving. Sometimes, when I stand up from sitting for a while, my eyes completely black out for a second, which is a bit scary. I'm not sure if this is part of the carb flu, but other than the light-headedness, I feel fine. I'm not lethargic or tired. I slowly weened off of grains before starting Paleo, so I think overall, my body wasn't as shocked as going cold turkey from conventional American (or Asian) diet. Am I not getting enough carbs?

Any input on either of my above questions/issues, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    1. you're eating until you're not hungry anymore. that's exactly what you should be doing, and you're feeling exactly what you should be feeling. you won't feel as bloated with most primal foods, so "full" is going to have a different sensation. enjoy the satisfaction.

2. this happened to me a lot early on. it was also worse after exercise. it's likely a quick drop in blood pressure, which can make you a little dizzy. getting up slowly helps, and, if your experience is like mine, it will regulate with time.

keep doing what you're doing.

Penady is offline Senior Member